Welcome to the Department of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry is one of the largest departments at the Royal Institute of Technology. It consists of three divisions: Organic Chemistry, Applied Physical Chemistry and Surface and Corrosion Science.

The Chemistry Department is research intensive, and the research is composed of a mix of curiosity driven projects and projects devoted to solving important industrial and societal problems. Many research projects have a clear interdisciplinary character, and they are often found within the three focus areas Bioactive Molecules, Functional Materials & Surfaces, and Energy & Environment.

Our scientific core is synthesis and characterization of functional molecules, materials and surfaces supported by method and technique development. We further a sustainable society, and make impact on health, energy, and the environment through research and education.

Divisions at the department

Organic chemistry

Applied Physical Chemistry

Surface Chemistry and Corrosion Science

Top page top