History of Computer Science and Communications


Professor Kerstin Severinson Eklundh retires.

New professor in Human Computer Interaction: Jan Gulliksen

Bachelor of Engineering program in Media technology is discontinued.

VIC Sthlm is opened

The Center for Opera and Techniques is placed at CSC.


KTH NOC closes down.

PDC is reorganized and PDC HPC hosted by CSC is opened.

David House is appointed Professor in Speech Communication and Technology

Danica Kragic is appointed Professor in Computer Science – Robotperception

KCSE become a National Graduate School

New Master’s Programs: Computional and System Biology, Media Management in collaboration with HHS.


Five year Master of Science and and Engineering Program: Computer Science, Media Technology.

Two year Master Programs: Scientific Computing, Media Management.

Three research groups merge to The Department of Computational Biology (CB):
Erik Aurell, professor in Theoretical Biological Physics;
Anders Lansner, professor in Computer Science - Neuro Computing;
Jens Lagergren, professor in Computer Science - Bioinformatics


One Year Master Program: Computer Science, Human Computer

Professor Jan-Olof Eklundh retires. New Professor in Computer Science - Computer Vision: Stefan Carlsson.

Professor in Media Technology and Graphic Arts: Marko Turpeinen.

CTT closes summer 2006.

The Centre for Sustainable Communications is established hosted by CSC.


The School of Computer Science and Communication, CSC, one of nine Schools at KTH, starts after a reorganization. NADA, TMH and the Unit for Language and Communication joins.

Personnel: around 340 staff members. CSC PhD students: 100.

CID and PSCI closes summer 2005

Top page top