Skip to main content

Research units

The department consists of approximately 200 people and has 7 research units:

  • Biomedical & X-Ray Physics
  • Biophysics
  • Laser Physics
  • Materials- and Nano Physics
  • Nanostructure Physics
  • Photonics
  • Quantum and biophotonics


Our research is primarily experimental, often crossdisciplinary, and spans the full area of "bio-opto-nano". We have a good international standing in fields such as bioimaging, microscopy, compact X-ray sources, X-ray imaging, ultrasonics for bioapplications, nonlinear optics, periodically-poled materials, lasers, nanophysics, spintronics and applied quantum physics. Joint facilities such as our Nanofabrication Laboratory and also our laser and bioimaging facilities provide an excellent experimental foundation for state-of-the-art research.