Transit safety among college students: An international study

The aim of the study is to characterize the dynamics of transit crime, in particular sexual harassment and violence, from the perspective of those who are most targeted by these offences, namely young people. Focus is given to the relationship between safety and the types of environments that individuals are exposed to when they travel by transit. The book focuses on women but also adopts a more holistic approach by considering the intersectionality of safety of young adults as transit passengers; it presents examples from a variety of cities worldwide, giving voices to young people from several countries in the Global North and the Global South.

This was an international study based on answers from around 15000 college/university students in 18 cities in 6 continents. The execution of the project covered about 18 months, starting in early 2018 and finishing by mid 2019.

Results available here

Coordinators (International Project)

  • Vania Ceccato , Professor, Department of Urban Planning and the Built Environment, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Anastasia Loukaitou-Sideris , Professor of Urban Planning; Associate Provost for Academic Planning, UCLA, USA

Case studies
The survey was composed of 50 questions translated into the local language. Case studies had to meet the following criteria:

  • Have a minimum sample of at least 300 university students per city. While most researchers were able to reach, and in many cases far exceed this sample size, in a couple of cities researchers were only able to collect smaller samples.
  • All researchers had to agree to use the same survey questions to allow comparability of results, with the exception of cases where the use of a particular question was not allowed in one country or by the Ethics Committee.
  • All researchers had to follow a pre-determined time schedule.

Read more about the research making here: thebscblog.wordpress.com/2020/03/

Results of this comparative framework are summarized in the book Transit Crime and Sexual Violence in Cities: International Evidence and Prevention , giving basis to the discussion of commonalities and differences in sexual violence among college studies in different parts of the world.

Cities Country Continent Research coord Contact

Bogota

Colombia

Americas

Monica Perez

m.perez@uniandes.edu.co

Guangzhou

China

Asia

Dengkai Huang

arhdk@hotmail.com

Huddinge

Sweden

Europe

Catherine Sundling

catherine.sundling@sh.se

Lagos

Nigeria

Africa

Smart Otu

smartotu@yahoo.com

Lisbon

Portugal

Europe

Perdro Gouveia

pedro.gouveia@cm-lisboa.pt

London

England

Europe

Reka Solymosi, Andrew Newton

reka.solymosi@manchester.ac.uk

Los Angeles

USA

Americas

Anastasia Loukaitou-Sideris

sideris@g.ucla.edu

Manilla

The Philipines

Asia

Derlie Mateo-Babiano

imateo@unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne

Australia

Oceania

Carolyn Whitzman

cwhitzma@uottawa.ca

Mexico city

Mexico

Americas

Javier Romero Torres

jromero@uaemex.mx

Milan

Italy

Europe

Serena Fararin

Serena.Favarin@unicatt.it

Paris

France

Europe

Hudo de Jubainville

hugo.darboisdejubainville@gmail.com

Rio Claro

Brazil

Americas

Silvio Govone, Farid Nourani

jsgovone@gmail.com;

farid.nourani@unesp.br

San Jose

USA

Americas

Asha Weinstein Agrawal

asha.weinstein.agrawal@sjsu.edu

Sao Paulo

Brazil

Americas

Paula Santoro

paulafsantoro@gmail.com

Stockholm

Sweden

Europe

Vania Ceccato

vania.ceccato@abe.kth.se

Tokyo

Japan

Asia

Seiji Shibata

contact@sbtseiji.net

Vancouver

Canada

Americas

Jordana Galisson

jkg5@sfu.ca

Page responsible:Vania Ceccato
Belongs to: Department of Urban Planning and Environment
Last changed: Apr 29, 2020