New KTH-initiative on Smart Sustainable Cities

Publicerad 2013-06-13

KTH Smart Sustainable Cities is a new KTH-wide initiative aiming to bundle resources, activities and competence at the intersection of technology, sustainability studies and urban planning.

Mattias Höjer and Olga Kordas
Mattias Höjer and Olga Kordas, contact persons for KTH Smart Sustainable Cities

The initiative comes from the KTH Energy Platform and the Centre for Sustainable Communications. Financing is provided by the KTH ICT Platform, the KTH Energy Platform and KTH Sustainability. Two fms-researchers are members of the steering group: Mattias Höjer and Josefin Wangel.

The primary goal of KTH Smart Sustainable Cities  is to create a contact point at KTH for this rapidly growing field of research. A steering group with research leaders from five different KTH-schools is assigned to promote research within the field at KTH and facilitate cooperation and networking with external partners.

One of the initiative’s first activities was to submit a proposal for developing a “Strategic Innovation Agenda”. The proposal was supported by ABB, City of Stockholm, Ericsson, Fortum, IBM, Intel, International Telecommunication Union (Focus Group on Smart Sustainable Cities), Svenska kraftnät (Swedish National Grid), Swedish ICT (Interactive Institute and SICS), Trafikverket (Swedish Transport Administration) and TeliaSonera.

The initiative has also started a “PhD Think Tank” – a network of PhD-students and postdocs from KTH research groups working on smart sustainable cities. The think tank creates a forum for fresh ideas, informal meetings and exchanges of experiences. The PhD Think Tank will take part in all of the initiative’s activities.

Contact persons

Olga Kordas, KTH Energy Platform
Mattias Höjer, Centre for Sustainable Communications (CESC)

Steering group

Björn E Palm, Department of Energy Technology, KTH ITM
Carl-Gustaf Jansson, KTH ICT Platform, KTH ICT
Cecilia Katzeff, Department of Media Technology and Interaction Design, KTH CSC
Anna Kramers, Division of Environmental Strategic Research (fms), KTH ABE
Karl Henrik Johansson, ACCESS Linnaeus Centre, KTH EES
Mattias Höjer, CESC, Division of Environmenal Strategies Research (fms), KTH ABE
Muriel Beser Hugosson, Centre for Sustainable Built Environment, KTH ABE
Nils Brandt, Department of Industrial Ecology, KTH ITM
Olga Kordas, KTH Energy Platform, Department of Industrial Ecology, KTH ITM
Pontus Johnson, Department of Industrial Information and Control Systems, KTH EES

Innehållsansvarig:Kosta Wallin
Tillhör: Miljöstrategisk analys
Senast ändrad: 2013-06-13