2020 Joint Conference on AI Music Creativity (CSMC + MuMe)

Oct 22-24 @ KTH and KMH, Stockholm, Sweden.

The event is hosted by the Division of Speech, Music and Hearing, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, KTH in collaboration with the Royal Conservatory of Music (KMH).

The computational simulation of musical creativity continues to be an exciting and significant area of academic research, and is now making impacts in commercial realms. Such systems pose several theoretical and technical challenges, and are the result of an interdisciplinary effort that encompasses the domains of music, artificial intelligence, cognitive science and philosophy. This can be seen within the broader realm of Musical Metacreation, which studies the design and use of such generative tools and theories for music making: discovery and exploration of novel musical styles and content, collaboration between human performers and creative software “partners”, and design of systems in gaming and entertainment that dynamically generate or modify music.

The 2020 Joint Conference on AI Music Creativity brings together for the first time two overlapping but distinct research forums: The Computer Simulation of Music Creativity conference  (est. 2016), and The International Workshop on Musical Metacreation  (est. 2012). The principal goal is to bring together scholars and artists interested in the virtual emulation of musical creativity and its use for music creation, and to provide an interdisciplinary platform to promote, present and discuss their work in scientific and artistic contexts.

The three day program will feature two keynotes, several research paper presentations, discussion panels, and two concerts.

Keynote lectures will be delivered by Professor Emeritus Dr. Johan Sundberg (Speech, Music and Hearing, KTH) and Dr. Alice Eldridge (Music, Sussex University, UK).

Important Dates

Specific dates coming soon. 

Paper submission deadline: July 2020
Music submission deadline: July 2020
Paper notification date: September 2020
Music notification date: September 2020
Camera-ready paper version: September 2020
Conference dates: October 22-24, 2020

Organising committee

Conference chair: Bob L. T. Sturm, Division of Speech, Music and Hearing, KTH

Paper chair: Andy Elmsley, CTO Melodrive

Music chair: Mattias Sköld, Instutitionen för komposition, dirigering och musikteori, KMH

Panel chair: Oded Ben-Tal, Department of Performing Arts, Kingston University, UK

Publicity chair: André Holzapfel, Division of Media Technology and Interaction Design, KTH

Sound and music computing chair: Roberto Bresin, Division of Media Technology and Interaction Design, KTH

Steering committee

Robert Keller, Harvey Mudd College, USA

Philippe Pasquier, Simon Fraser University, Canada

Robin Laney, The Open University, UK

Anna Jordanous, University of Kent, UK

Roisin Loughran, Dundalk Institute of Technology, Ireland

Steven Jan, University of Huddersfield, UK


Belongs to: School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Last changed: Dec 02, 2019