Last edit: 04/09/2015
Approved: 04/09/2015

The education comprises five years and 300 credits.

The three first years are for first-cycle studies and the final two for second-cycle studies.

The final two years the student takes a specialization that coincides with a Master's programme. The selection of elective Master's programmes can be changed, as the KTH programmes offered on master's level may change. Easmus Mundus programmes where KTH participates can, after approval from the programme co-ordinator, also constitute a specialization. For Erasmus Mundus programmes there are no reserved/guaranteed seats.  These programmes must be applied to in competition with other applicants. Currently, the following Master's programmes constitute possible specializations:

  • Computer Science
  • Embedded systems
  • Industrial Management
  • Communication Systems
  • Machine Learning
  • Media Technology  (without new admission from HT16)
  • Medical Engineering
  • Human Computer Interaction (without new admission from HT16)
  • Network Services and Systems
  • Software Engineering of Distributed Systems
  • Systems, Control and Robotics
  • System-on-Chip Design
  • Wireless Systems

Students can be qualified to follow other Master's programme within KTH. If a student wants to follow another Master's programme than those listed as possible specialisations, consultation should take place with the programme co-ordinator för the IT-programme.

KTH's policy is that first-cycle courses are taught in Swedish and that second-cycle studies are conducted in English. The majority of courses for second-cycle studies are consequently in English. Some courses for first-cycle studies can be in English dependent on the teachers.