Last edit: 08/05/2012
Approved: 08/05/2012

Structure of the education

The school year for KTH undergraduate education is divided into four periods. The study periods have about 7 weeks each with a minimum of 33 study days. Each study period is followed by an exam period containing two available days and at least five exam days. In addition to the four ordinary exam periods three re-exam periods are provided; in January, after May and directly before the first period of the school year.

The school year includes 40 weeks. Teaching, if necessary, can take place outside the school year.

The first year consists of four compulsory courses and four conditionally elective courses. The second year consists of specialization courses within the respective specializations. The education finishes with the Master thesis project.


The programme is course-based. Lists of courses are included in Appendix 1: Course list

The curriculum is implemented as a 120 credits (hp) masters program:

  • Compulsory courses: 30 ECTS credits (hp)
  • Elective courses, including project courses: 60 ECTS credits (hp)
  • Masters thesis work: 30 ECTS credits (hp)
  • For details see the course list in the appendix.

Further elective courses from the KTH or other national/international universities may be included.

Grading system

Courses in the first and the second cycle are graded on a scale from A to F. A-E are passing grades, A is the highest grade. The grades pass (P) and fail (F) are used for courses under certain circumstances.

Conditions for participation in the programme

Study Application and Period Registration

Every student should before every period, in May respective November, make a study application (course selection).  That application is the basis for estimating the number of students that will follow the course. The study application render possible grade registration and payment of study grant from CSN. 

Course Selection

No application is needed for the compulsory courses in year 1 and 2. Course selection takes place in two election periods every school year. Election before the Fall at the latest May 15 and before the Spring at the latest November 15.

Study Authorization (Studieberättigande)

For studies in year two:

At least 40 ECTS points out of year one should have been completed by the August period.

Students that do not accumulate the required number of points by the August period will not be transferred to the next semester, instead they will be re-registered for the same study period as before. An individual study plans needs to be approved before new courses can be taken.

Recognition of previous academic studies

According to the high school regulation (högskoleförordningen) a student, that went through higher education with approved result, has the right to count that for a corresponding education in other University. The same applies to students that went through higher education with approved results in Denmark, Finland, Island or Norway or in any other European country that took part in the convention of the European council of April 11 1997 on the recognition of qualifications concerning higher education in the European Union.

Studies abroad

Conditions for studies abroad should be specified

Degree project

To be awarded a Master’s degree in Communication Systems the student must, within the course requirements, have fulfilled an independent work (the master’s thesis project) of at least 30 hp in Communication Systems.

The subject for the thesis project may be chosen by the student to be performed at KTH, at other universities, or in industry. A student who has been promoted to the second year, and has completed at least 60 ECTS credits, may apply to start a thesis project. The thesis is graded on the scale A-F according to the guidelines (criteria: technical content, process and presentation) determined by KTH and by the School of ICT.


The Master’s degree is obtained after completion of the courses and the thesis with a total of at least 120hp. The degree is "Teknologie masterexamen", translated into English as "Degree of Master of Science (two years)". The degree is awarded after application from the stu