MJ216X Degree Project in Applied Thermodynamics, Second Cycle 30.0 credits

Examensarbete inom tillämpad termodynamik, avancerad nivå

  • Education cycle

    Second cycle
  • Main field of study

    Mechanical Engineering
  • Grading scale

    A, B, C, D, E, FX, F

Course offerings

Autumn 18 for programme students

Intended learning outcomes

Upon completion of the thesis project, the student should be able to:

• Formulate clear objectives that can be validated through appropriate scientific and/or engineering methods;

• Plan his/her own work appropriately to achieve the objectives;

• Assimilate related work in the field and link this to the task at hand;

• Employ a wide range of technical and non-technical tools and methods, either those that have been acquired previously or through learning new skills;

• If applicable, incorporate aspects related to sustainability, end-user or societal implications;

• Communicate results, in both oral and written form, with due respect to clarity, accuracy, and effectiveness;

• If applicable, critique a peer’s technical work (oral or written) and be able to meet corresponding viewpoints on his/her own work

Course main content

MSc programs culminate in the degree (thesis) project, where students are expected to demonstrate independent mastery of a particular engineering problem employing a wide variety of skills. A variety of topics are appropriate for a thesis project, however the project must have significant technical components, have a clear link to the applied thermodynamics field, and, if applicable,contribute to sustainable development. Provided that a thesis project meets these requirements, and under the condition that competent guidance/supervision is available to the student throughout the thesis project period, the project may be carried out either in an academic environment (university, research institute, or equivalent) or in an industrial setting (power plant, energy consulting agency, or other industry/business).

Eligibility

Literature

Examination

  • XUPP - Examination Question, 30.0, grading scale: A, B, C, D, E, FX, F

Written report (XUPP; 30hp)

Assessment:

• Oral presentation

• Written reports at 1/3, 2/3 and final phases (XUPP; 30hp).

• Normally perform peer review either via critiquing a fellow student’s written report or oral presentation (opposition)

Requirements for final grade

Written report (XUPP; 30hp)

Assessment:

• Oral presentation

• Written reports at 1/3, 2/3 and final phases (XUPP; 30hp).

• Normally perform peer review either via critiquing a fellow student’s written report or oral presentation (opposition)

Offered by

ITM/Energy Technology

Examiner

Björn Palm <bjorn.palm@energy.kth.se>

Hans Havtun <hans.havtun@energy.kth.se>

Hatef Madani Larijani <hatef.madani@energy.kth.se>

Jaime Arias Hurtado <jaime.arias@energy.kth.se>

Joachim Claesson <joachim.claesson@energy.kth.se>

Per Lundqvist <per.lundqvist@energy.kth.se>

Rahmatollah Khodabandeh <rahmatollah.khodabandeh@energy.kth.se>

Samer Sawalha <samer.sawalha@energy.kth.se>

Viktoria Martin <viktoria.martin@energy.kth.se>

Version

Course syllabus valid from: Autumn 2011.
Examination information valid from: Autumn 2007.