MJ240X Degree Project in Energy Technology, Second Cycle 30.0 credits

Examensarbete inom energiteknik, avancerad nivå

  • Education cycle

    Second cycle
  • Main field of study

    Mechanical Engineering
  • Grading scale

    P, F

Course offerings

Spring 19 for programme students

Autumn 19 for programme students

  • Periods

    Autumn 19 P1 (15.0 credits), P2 (15.0 credits)

  • Application code

    50555

  • Start date

    26/08/2019

  • End date

    14/01/2020

  • Language of instruction

    English

  • Campus

    KTH Campus

  • Tutoring time

    Daytime

  • Form of study

    Normal

  • Number of places

    No limitation

  • Teacher

    Saman Nimali Gunasekara <saman.gunasekara@energy.kth.se>

Spring 20 for programme students

Autumn 18 for programme students

  • Periods

    Autumn 18 P1 (15.0 credits), P2 (15.0 credits)

  • Application code

    51501

  • Start date

    27/08/2018

  • End date

    14/01/2019

  • Language of instruction

    English

  • Campus

    KTH Campus

  • Tutoring time

    Daytime

  • Form of study

    Normal

  • Number of places

    No limitation

  • Teacher

    Saman Nimali Gunasekara <saman.gunasekara@energy.kth.se>

Intended learning outcomes

• demonstrate knowledge and understanding of the scientific foundation and best practices for the chosen subject, as well as an advanced understanding in current research and development, and in-depth knowledge of methodology.

• demonstrate the ability to search, gather and integrate knowledge and identify their need for additional knowledge, all with a holistic, critical and systematic work approach.

• demonstrate the ability to identify, analyse, assess and handle complex phenomena, issues and situations also with limited information

• demonstrate the ability to plan and with adequate methods carry out qualified assignments within given time frames and to evaluate this work

• demonstrate the ability to develop and evaluate products, processes, systems, methods or technical solutions considering the prerequisites and needs of people and the aim of the society for economically, socially and ecologically sustainable development

• demonstrate the ability to orally and in writing in dialogue with different groups clearly account for and discuss his conclusions and the knowledge and the arguments that these are based on

• demonstrate the ability to make assessments considering relevant scientific, social and ethical aspects

• demonstrate the skills required to participate in research and development work, or to work independently in other qualified activities

Course main content

The Master programme is concluded with a degree project in which the student is expected to demonstrate ability to independently solve an engineering problem by using a broad spectrum of skills. The subject for the degree project can vary but it must contain significant technical contents, have a clear application within chosen field and, if applicable, contribute to sustainable development. Provided that the degree project satisfies the requirements above, as decided by the course coordinator or examiner, and provided that qualified supervision is provided throughout the degree project, the student can choose to carry out the degree project either at an academic department, within an industrial company, or at a consulting firm, in Sweden or abroad.

Eligibility

Requirements established by the engineering programme, for starting a degree project. These requirements are found in the programme syllabus

Literature

The students carry out an individual literature search, that is relevant to their respective project

Examination

  • XUPP - Thesis Project, 30.0, grading scale: P, F

XUPP- Examination question, 30 credits

Besides the established KTH criteria for passing a second cycle degree project, the course specific criteria are:

Concluded project work with agreed deliverables, attendance at compulsory seminars, presentation at these, public discussion and completion of final report.

Offered by

ITM/Energy Technology

Examiner

Björn Palm <bjorn.palm@energy.kth.se>

Hans Havtun <hans.havtun@energy.kth.se>

Hatef Madani Larijani <hatef.madani@energy.kth.se>

Jaime Arias Hurtado <jaime.arias@energy.kth.se>

Joachim Claesson <joachim.claesson@energy.kth.se>

Per Lundqvist <per.lundqvist@energy.kth.se>

Rahmatollah Khodabandeh <rahmatollah.khodabandeh@energy.kth.se>

Samer Sawalha <samer.sawalha@energy.kth.se>

Viktoria Martin <viktoria.martin@energy.kth.se>

Version

Course syllabus valid from: Autumn 2015.
Examination information valid from: Autumn 2015.