Skip to main content
Till KTH:s startsida Till KTH:s startsida

Xiongfei Wang

Profile picture of Xiongfei Wang




About me

Xiongfei Wang is currently a Professor at KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden, and a part-time Professor at Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark. From 2009 to 2022, he was with the Department of Energy Technology, Aalborg University, where he became an Assistant Professor in 2014, an Associate Professor in 2016, a Professor and the founding Leader of Electronic Power Grid (eGRID) Research Group in 2018.

Industry-Driven Research

  • Modeling and control of power electronic converters and systems
  • Stability and power quality of power-electronic-based power systems
  • Data-driven approach to dynamics analysis and control of power electronics systems

Professional Services

  • Executive Editor (Editor in Chief), IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics Letters
  • Associate Editor, IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics (JESTPE)
  • Vice Chair, IEEE Power Electronics Society (PELS) Technical Committee (TC 8) on Electronic Power Grid Systems
  • Member-at-Large, Administrative Committee (AdCom), IEEE PELS, 2020-2022
  • Technical Program Co-Chair, IEEE ECCE 2023
  • Special Session Program Chair, IEEE ECCE 2020
  • General Co-Chair, IEEE COMPEL 2020
  • Technical Program Chair, IEEE eT&D (rebranded as eGrid) 2017

Awards and Honors

  • 2023 Two Best Papers, Wind & Solar Integration Workshop 2023
  • 2023 Second Prize Paper Award, IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics
  • 2023 IEEE Fellow
  • 2022 Isao Takahashi Power Electronics Award
  • 2021 Outstanding Paper Award, IEEE Transactions on Smart Grid
  • 2021 - 2019 Highly Cited Researcher, Web of Science, Clarivate
  • 2020 Star Associate Editor for IEEE JESTPE
  • 2020 IEEE PES Prize Paper Award, IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES)
  • 2019 IEEE PELS Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award
  • 2018 Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award
  • 2017 Second Prize Paper Award, IEEE Industry Applications Society-Industrial Power Converter Committee (IAS-IPCC)
  • 2016 Outstanding Reviewer Award, IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics
  • 2016 Aalborg University Talent Management Program (AAU Talent)
  • 2014 Second Prize Paper Award, IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics
  • 6 IEEE/IET Conference Best Paper Awards  (IEEE COMPEL2021, IEEE PEDG2016, IEEE SPEC2018, IEEE PEAC2018, IEEE PES GM2017, IET RPG2017)


Control in Electrical Energy Conversion (EJ2230), teacher | Course web

Power System Stability and Control (EG2110), assistant | Course web

The Sustainable Electric Power Engineer (EH2220), assistant | Course web