About us

The Division of Micro and Nanosystems (MST) is one of sixteen departments at the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.

The division is located at KTH's main camus at Valhallavägen in Stockholm, Sweden, and it is headed by prof. Göran Stemme. Within the division there is a group of senior researchers with different specializations as well as a number of doctoral students.

List of staff


The division gives courses in the areas of Measurement technology and Microsystem technology.

Read about education at MST


The major research field of the division is Micro- and Nanoelectromechanical Systems (MEMS/NEMS), where micro- and nanofabrication techniques and materials are adapted to the making of small, low-cost, high-performance electromechanical, optoelectromechanical, RF/microwave as well as micro- and nano-fluidic devices.

Read about research at MST

Lab facilities

Much of the device fabrication takes place in KTH's ELAB laboratory. This laboratory comprises 1300m² of class-100 cleanroom area for fabrication and characterization of microelectronics, photonics and microsystem devices. The ELAB laboratory is situated at KTH*s campus in Kista, North-west of the city. Through the my-fab network the division also have acces to the other major cleanrooom labs in Sweden.

At KTH's main campus at Valhallavägen, the division has a small lab for evaluation and other work that does not require cleanroom environment.

Page responsible:Web editors at EECS
Belongs to: Micro and Nanosystems
Last changed: Dec 11, 2018