Skip to main content

Prizes and awards

KTH Royal Institute of Technology awards the following prizes to both internal and external recipients.

The prices are usually awarded at one of KTH's academic ceremonies. At KTH's Conferment Ceremony at the Konserthuset in November each year, KTH's grand prize is presented, as well as KTH's gold medal for Industrial Collaboration and Janne Carlsson's Scholarship for Academic Leadership. Then the honorary doctors are given their insignia as a sign of their new dignity. Every ten years, Professor Gunnar Wallquist's Bergsmedalj is also awarded.

At the graduation ceremonies in the City Hall, the Pedagogical Prize, the President of KTH's Equality and Diversity Prize, the Alumni of the Year and Professor Gunnar Wallquist's study medal are awarded.

Each year, KTH's faculty appoint a number of honorary doctorates. An honorary doctor (doctor honoris causa) may be appointed as a person with whom the university's researchers has made contact through his / her occupation. Or, a person who has not chosen the academic path but otherwise achieved the corresponding scientific level and earned himself/herself the dignity of the doctoral title and that KTH would like to associate with the research community.

2019 Tamer Başar, professor at the University of Illinois, recieves the diploma as he is awarded an honorary doctorate at KTH.
2019 Tamer Başar, professor at the University of Illinois, was awarded an honorary doctorate at KTH.
Belongs to: About KTH
Last changed: Mar 25, 2022