Skip to main content
To KTH's start page To KTH's start page

Sverker Sörlin, one of eight new Honorary Doctors Appointed by the UiB

Published Feb 11, 2022

The University of Bergen announced eight new honorary doctors on February 10, 2022. We are happy to announce Sverker Sörlin as one of the receivers of this prestigious award.

Sverker is awarded for "his research on social challenges such as environmental and climate policy in a humanistic perspective. As a professor of the history of ideas, Professor Sörlin has made a substantial contribution by providing advice and reporting on research and environmental policy and he has published extensively on the role of the humanities in society. Sverker Sörlin has been proposed by the Faculty of Humanities."

The honorary doctorate is the highest honour that the University of Bergen award a person who is not employed at the university. Professor Achille Mbembe, the keynote at our 2020 Archipelago Lecture will also receive the award together with Bergsveinn Birgisson, Hans Petter Graver, Britta Marakatt-Labba, Fiamma Straneo, Elena Plante, and Rajiv Bahl.

Over the years, the Division have had many contacts through climate and history of science with UiB. Sverker, as well has many of our researchers, has visited several times in different contexts, and participated in both exhibitions and conferences. UiB is also the university where the Norwegian author Karl Ove Knausgård studied art and literature.