MJ145X Degree Project in Sustainable Energy Engineering, First Cycle 15.0 credits

Examensarbete i hållbar energiteknik, grundnivå

  • Education cycle

    First cycle
  • Main field of study

    Technology
  • Grading scale

    A, B, C, D, E, FX, F

Course offerings

Spring 19 for programme students

Intended learning outcomes

After completion of the course the student should be able to:

Formulate problems and apply methodology within the subject area of sustainable energy engineering to search for and validate solutions

Apply knowledge and skills that have been achieved during the studies on problems within the field of energy techonolgy.

Plan his/her own work to achieve given partial objectives

Analyse the need of scientific information, perform literature survey and validate the found information

Present his/her work in a written report with requirements on content, structure and language

Use references, figures, tables and equations as academically accepted in a report

Write a summary in English with the correct use of the terminology within the subject area

Perform oral presentations with requirements on timeframe and clear language, performance and illustrations

Review and give comments on a technical work (opposition) and to be able to meet corresponding viewpoints on his/her own work

Construct a model, make assumptions and assess its validity and reasonableness through sensitivity analysis

Course main content

The course is conducted in project form, either individually or in groups of two students. The projects treat problems within the field of energy engineering, which are commonly found in society and with focus on sustainable solutions. The objective with the project is to integrate technology with requirements on sustainable environmental, economical and social development.

The course instructors provide appropiate projects by the course start. The projects may be commissioned by industry, business world, a foundation or a research group but are to be performed at KTH. The course instructors are the supervisors for respective project.

The project should be documented in a written report, normally written in Swedish with an abstract in English. However, it is allowed to write the report in English.

There are three mandatory seminars included in the course: problem formulation, intermediate and final seminars. The students are to prepare a presentation of the progress for each seminar to be presented orally. For the final seminar opposition is additionally performed. Written parts of the report are to be handed in during the course with content according the course instructions given by the course start.

Eligibility

MJ1112 Applied Thermodynamics, 9 ECTS or corresponding knowledge

ME1003 Industrial Management, 6 ECTS or corresponding knowledge

Recommended: MJ1401 Heat Transfer, 6 ECTS, but is not mandatory

Recommended prerequisites

MJ1112 Applied Thermodynamics, 9 ECTS or corresponding knowledge

ME1003 Industrial Management, 6 ECTS or corresponding knowledge

Recommended: MJ1401 Heat Transfer, 6 ECTS, but is not mandatory

Literature

Studenterna genomför själva litteratursökning som är relevant för deras respektive projekt

Examination

  • XUPP - Degree Project, 15.0, grading scale: A, B, C, D, E, FX, F

Requirements for final grade

XUPP, 15 credits, grading A-Fx.

Performed project work with partial submissions according to the course instructions, presence at the mandatory seminars and presentation on these, opposition and a completing final report.

Offered by

ITM/Energy Technology

Contact

Peter Hagström (peter.hagstrom@energy.kth.se)

Examiner

Anders Malmquist <anders.malmquist@energy.kth.se>

Andrew Martin <andrew.martin@energy.kth.se>

Björn Palm <bjorn.palm@energy.kth.se>

Dilip Khatiwada <dilip.khatiwada@energy.kth.se>

Francesco Fuso-Nerini <francesco.fusonerini@energy.kth.se>

Hans Havtun <hans.havtun@energy.kth.se>

Hatef Madani Larijani <hatef.madani@energy.kth.se>

Jaime Arias Hurtado <jaime.arias@energy.kth.se>

Joachim Claesson <joachim.claesson@energy.kth.se>

Paul Petrie-Repar <paul.petrie-repar@energy.kth.se>

Per Lundqvist <per.lundqvist@energy.kth.se>

Peter Hagström <peter.hagstrom@energy.kth.se>

Semida Silveira <semida.silveira@energy.kth.se>

Viktoria Martin <viktoria.martin@energy.kth.se>

Supplementary information

Students on foreign exchange in year 3 may attend the course on distance. It is the important to establish contact during the autumn with the examiner of the course to get instructions how it is performed on distance. Minor Field Studies, MFS, are encouraged in the course. Contact should then be established with the examiner well in advance to discuss appropiate projects.

Version

Course syllabus valid from: Spring 2014.
Examination information valid from: Spring 2014.