CBH professor receives Anselme Payen Award

Published Apr 17, 2019

The 2019 Anselme Payen Award winner is Dr Ann-Christine Albertsson, Professor emeritus at the division of Polymer Technology.

The prize is awarded every year by the American Chemical Society: Cellulose and Renewable Materials (CELL) Division: “to honor and encourage outstanding professional contributions to the science and chemical technology of cellulose and its allied products.”

Ann-Christine Albertsson earned her doctorate degree in 1977. She has since published more than 380 peer-reviewed publications in various international scientific journals, with more than 16 000 citations. Dr Albertsson is also the founding editor-in-chief of the journal Biomacromolecules .

The award jury writes: “Her scientific contributions have provided us with a new paradigm in the design of degradable and renewable polymeric materials, where the macroscopic performance is translated to all levels of order. The width and scope of her achievements have contributed not only to the field of biopolymers but to the greater community of polymer science.”

Ann-Christine Albertsson will receive her prize, a medal in bronze and 3000 dollars, at the American Chemical Society’s conference in Philadelphia March 2020.

Page responsible:Kenneth Carlsson
Belongs to: School of Engineering Sciences in Chemistry, Biotechnology and Health (CBH)
Last changed: Apr 17, 2019