Skip to main content

Master Thesis

Information about writing your master thesis at INDEK

Master thesis at INDEK spring semester 2024

The application to write your master thesis at INDEK during the spring semester 2024 is closed. If you have questions regarding your application, contact Bo Karlson at bo.karlson@indek.kth.se .

To write a master thesis (30 ECTS) at INDEK

The master thesis is the final part of your studies at KTH and consists of an academic essay that you write, present, and get assessed. It is thus a scientific work that teachers at INDEK guides, assesses and grades. You initiate the thesis project yourself, and we expect you to perform the work in an active and independent way.

The thesis project is carried out individually or in pairs; we never allow more than two students to write a thesis together. INDEK recommends that you write with another student, but you may choose to work alone if you want. The reason why we recommend that the theses is written in pairs is that we know from experience that it has great advantages, mainly in terms of the quality of the work performed. Unfortunately, INDEK cannot help you to find another student with whom you can write your master thesis.

Most students write their thesis in collaboration with a company or other organization. Selection of area of research and problem formulation is done independently but in dialogue with the KTH supervisor and the company commissioning the project. You take full responsibility for the collaboration with the company. 

It is normally possible to write the thesis project abroad, but it is important that you discuss this with INDEK's director of studies or another teacher at the department.

For general questions about writing a thesis project at INDEK, contact the director of studies of the department: Bo Karlson, bo.karlson@indek.kth.se

For specific questions about subject areas for thesis projects at INDEK, contact one of the contact persons below.

Subject areas for thesis projects at INDEK (30 ECTS)

Industrial management is a very large subject area. Thanks to the broad competence available at INDEK, we can offer thesis projects in a number of areas. In the list below you will find contact persons in various subject areas. In addition to these contact persons, there are several other teachers and researchers at INDEK who supervise master thesis projects. Contact details for INDEK's staff can be found at Staff at INDEK .

Areas of supervisory competence at INDEK

  1. Management control and accounting
    Contact persons:
    Bo Karlson bo.karlson@indek.kth.se

    Christian Thomann christian.thomann@indek.kth.se
    Mohammad Akhbari mohammad.akhbari@indek.kth.se

  2. Corporate finance and financial economics
    Contact person:
    Christian Thomann christian.thomann@indek.kth.se
    Petter Dahlström petter.dahlstrom@indek.kth.se
     
  3. Micro and macro economics
    Contact persons:
    Hans Lööf hans.loof@indek.kth.se
    Per Thulin per.thulin@indek.kth.se
    Kristina Nyström kristina.nystrom@indek.kth.se
     
  4. Organizing and organizations
    (incl. organizational theory, organizational change, social media, knowledge sharing, corporate ethics, project management, leadership, HRM, work science)
    Contact persons:
    Monica Lindgren monica.lindgren@indek.kth.se
    Åsa-Karin Engstrand asa-karin.engstrand@indek.kth.se
    Anna Jerbrant anna.jerbrant@indek.kth.se
    Maksim Miterev maxim.miterev@indek.kth.se
    Matti Kaulio matti.kaulio@indek.kth.se
     
  5. Operations and supply chains
    (Incl. production, management of production, logistics, risk management)
    Contact persons:
    Jannis Angelis jannis.angelis@indek.kth.se
    Luca Urciuoli luca.urciuoli@indek.kth.se
    Pernilla Ulfvengren pernilla.ulfvengren@indek.kth.se
     
  6. Innovation
    (Incl. R&D management, technology management, product development)
    Contact persons:
    Lars Uppvall lars.uppvall@indek.kth.se
    Mats Engwall mats.engwall@indek.kth.se
    Cali Nuur cali.nuur@indek.kth.se
    Philip Kappen philip.kappen@indek.kth.se
  7. Entrepreneurship
    Contact persons:
    Terrence Brown terrence.brown@indek.kth.se
    Henrik Blomgren henrik.blomgren@indek.kth.se
    Kristina Nyström kristina.nystrom@indek.kth.se
    Per Thulin per.thulin@indek.kth.se
    Philip Kappen philip.kappen@indek.kth.se
     
  8. Marketing
    Contact persons:
    Terrence Brown terrence.brown@indek.kth.se
    Henrik Blomgren henrik.blomgren@indek.kth.se
    Mana Farshid mana.farshid@indek.kth.se
     
  9. Industrial development and transformation
    Contact persons:
    Niklas Arvidsson niklas.arvidsson@indek.kth.se
    Emrah Karakaya emrah.karakaya@indek.kth.se
    Andreas Feldmann andreas.feldmann@indek.kth.se
    Pernilla Ulfvengren pernilla.ulfvengren@indek.kth.se
     
  10. Energy systems
    Contact persons:
    Fabian Levihn fabian.levihn@indek.kth.se
    Frauke Urban frauke.urban@indek.kth.se

    Aspects of special interest, cutting across “areas of supervisory competence at INDEK”

     
  11. Sustainability
    Contact persons:
    Andreas Feldmann andreas.feldmann@indek.kth.se
    Emrah Karakaya emrah.karakaya@indek.kth.se
    Pernilla Ulfvengren pernilla.ulfvengren@indek.kth.se
     
  12. Digitalization
    Contact persons:
    Jannis Angelis jannis.angelis@indek.kth.se
    Mats Engwall mats.engwall@indek.kth.se
    Henrik Blomgren henrik.blomgren@indek.kth.se
    Niklas Arvidsson niklas.arvidsson@indek.kth.se
    Emrah Karakaya emrah.karakaya@indek.kth.se
    Mattias Wiggberg mattias.wiggberg@indek.kth.se
     
  13. Equality, equal treatment, diversity
    Contact persons:
    Monica Lindgren monica.lindgren@indek.kth.se
    Johann Packendorff johann.packendorff@indek.kth.se
    Åsa-Karin Engstrand asa-karin.engstrand@indek.kth.se

Applying for writing a master thesis at INDEK (30 ECTS)

We start a round of thesis projects at the beginning of the spring semester and a round at the beginning of the fall semester. It is not possible to start at any other time. If you want to write your thesis during the spring semester, you must submit an application to INDEK in the end of November. If you want to write your thesis during the autumn semester, you must submit an application to INDEK in the beginning of June. Exact dates are published well in advance of each deadline. You do not apply for the thesis project via antagning.se.

We offer the opportunity to write a thesis project for all students of the master program in Industrial engineering and management (CINEK/TIEMM) and all students of the master program in Industrial management (TINEM). Most students who study a five-year degree program at KTH shall apply for the course ME211X. Most students who only study a master program at KTH shall apply for the course ME210X. Older students may instead choose ME200X. The application form contains information about the differences between the thesis courses. Due to the large number of students in these programs, we have very little opportunity to offer students from other programs to write their theses with INDEK.

A master thesis project at INDEK may be initiated in three different ways:

  • You apply with a thesis proposal that you have formulated in collaboration with an external organization, e.g. a company. The thesis is commissioned by the external organization. This is the most common type of thesis project at INDEK and that is what we recommend.
     
  • You apply with a thesis proposal that has been initiated by a researcher at INDEK. We have the ambition to formulate and announce a number of proposals for research-related thesis projects that you can apply for before each semester.
     
  • You apply with your own thesis proposal in one of the areas listed above. In this case, we recommend that you contact one of INDEK's researchers who are active in the chosen area to discuss your problem formulation and focus.

On the application form, you must select within which subject area or subject areas you want to write your thesis. If you select any of the aspects 11-13, you must also select at least one of the subject areas 1-10. If you are applying for a thesis project that is to be carried out on behalf of a company (the first category in the bullet list above), you must therefore make a selection of one or more of the areas 1-13 yourself.

After the application deadline, we check your eligibility. In this process, we wait for the results from exam period 2 and the re-exam period in August. If you are eligible to start writing your master thesis, you will be signed up and then course registered on one of our thesis courses. As soon as possible (usually in January and August), we will appoint a supervisor for you and you will be placed in a seminar group. Normally, the seminar leader is also your examiner.

Completion of thesis project at INDEK (30 ECTS)

Four peer review seminars will be carried out during the spring and autumn semesters. At the last seminar, which takes place at the end of the spring and autumn semesters, you will make your final presentation and you will also act as opponent on another thesis project. During the spring semester, the final seminar is held in connection with INDEK Master Thesis Days. During the autumn semester, one or more independent seminars are held, depending on the number of students. The exact structure of the seminar series may vary slightly between the seminar groups.

Thesis proposals at INDEK (30 ECTS)

Proposals for thesis projects from researchers at INDEK (the second category in the bullet list above) and companies and other organizations (the first category in the bullet list above) can be found at Thesis proposals at INDEK  (the list is updated continuously)

Collected links with additional information

Guidelines and evaluation criteria

Forms

Completing the thesis report

Thesis courses

Finding a thesis project

Published theses

Page responsible:infomaster@itm.kth.se
Belongs to: Industrial Economics and Management
Last changed: Dec 04, 2023