Skip to main content
To KTH's start page To KTH's start page

KTH's academic ceremony

KTH' academic ceremony will take place at Grand Hôtel 11 April 2025. During the ceremony honorary doctors are promoted, newly appointed professors are inaugurated and prizes are awarded.

The ceremony

The ceremony will be held in the Vinterträdgården of the Grand Hôtel. Newly appointed professors are inaugurated by the President on stage with a film and diploma. Honorary doctorates are awarded with a hat, ring and diploma. During the ceremony, KTH's Grand Prize, KTH's Award for Industrial Co-operation and the Janne Carlsson Scholarship are awarded. 

Promotor Göran Finnveden and Honorary docotor Jens Nielsen on stage.
Promotor Göran Finnveden and Honorary docotr Jens Nielsen. Photo: Studio Slakthuset


KTH invites guests, Honorary Doctors, new professors, laureates and guests to the following banquet. The banquet will be held at Spegelsalen, Grand Hôtel.

We suggest a baby sitter for your children if possible, rather than bringing them to the ceremony/banquet. It is not a suitable environment for children.

Honorary doctors

During KTH's academic ceremony, newly appointed honorary doctorates are conferred. The honorary doctors are appointed by the Faculty Council and receive a hat, ring and diploma from the doctor's hand.

Inaguration av new professors

New professors, appointed between 1 December 2023 - 5 November 2024, will be invited with a guest to participate in the ceremony and banquet. They will be given the possibility to invite extra guests to the ceremony. 

From early August a film team is set to make a short introduction film ( approx 50 sec.) for each new professor. Instructions and time schedule for this will be sent to your e-mail. The promoted new professors will be inaugurated on the stage and the film will be shown to the audience.

Affiliated- visiting- and adjunct professors, are also invited to the ceremony and banquet, with partner. Those categories will be mentioned in the printed program and also with a photo on the screen, when the president presents the new professors.

Registration for new Professors will open February 2025. 


During the academic ceremony, KTH's most prestigious prizes are awarded. The Chairman of the KTH University Board presents the KTH Grand Prize, the Dean of the Faculty presents the Janne Carlsson Scholarship and the Deputy President presents the KTH Award for Industrial Collaboration.


The dresscode 'white tie' is strictly required for new professors who attends the ceremony. This attire is also desirable for guests taking part in the banquet. For guests attending the ceremony only, the dress code is dark lounge suit. 

For additional information regarding the ceremony and everything around it, please contact Master of Ceremonies Hanna Sundelin, E-mail: .