Skip to main content
To KTH's start page To KTH's start page

About the Division of Philosophy

The Division of Philosophy, KTH, performs research, teaching, and PhD education within several branches of philosophy, not least philosophical aspects of technology and its use in society.

Important research areas within the division are the following:

  • Philosophy of risk
  • Ethics of technology
  • Logic
  • Decision theory
  • Philosophy of science

The breadth of our research is apparent in our lists of publications  and lists of dissertations

The teaching we offer consists in lectures and seminars, as well as less common features such as role-playing games. We offer our own courses and we also participate in courses given by other KTH departments.

The Division of Philosophy was founded in 1999 (then called the Philosophy Unit). We are one of the two divisions making up the Department of Philosophy and History   , which is part of the School of Architecture and Built Environment , KTH.

Leadership and Administrative Support

Visiting address

Division of Philosophy
Teknikringen 76, level 3 & level 5
SE-114 28 Stockholm

Post address

KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Att: Division of Philosophy

Teknikringen 76
SE-100 44 Stockholm

Invoice address

If you are invoicing us, a contract or a requsition is usually needed. Please send questions regarding this to:

Kungliga Tekniska högskolan
Box 24075
SE-104 50 Stockholm

General queries: