Skip to main content

Alum of the Year at KTH

The annual Alum of the Year award at KTH aims to recognise and celebrate a prominent alum who is an inspiration to others.

Picture of Previous laureates
Previous laureates of the award

The Alum of the Year should hold a degree from KTH. KTH Alumni Advisory Board  reviews the nominations and issues a recommendation to the President, who makes the final decision. The award ceremony usually takes place at the graduation ceremony in the Town Hall at the end of May. The Alum of the Year-event is also held in the spring.


The nomination period for Alum of the Year 2024 is now closed. It opens again towards the end of the year when we accept nominations for Alum of the Year 2025.

Previous laureates

2023, Carl Unander-Scharin , composer, inventor, opera singer and professor, MEDIAT-10

2022, Sophia Hober , Professor of Molecular Biotechnology at KTH, K-84

2021 Karim Engelmark Cassimjee , CEO and co-founder, EnginZyme, BIO-00

2020, Maja Reichard , swimmer and para-athlete, CENMI-11

2019 Gustav Söderström, Chief R&D Officer at Spotify, E-97

2018 Paulina Modlitba , Founder at We should be Friends, MEDIA-01

2017 Mathias Uhlén , Professor at KTH

2016 Veronica Augustsson , CEO at Cinnober Financial Technology, D-98

2015 Peter Arvai , CEO and founder, Prezi, MEDIA -99

2014 Regina Kevius , City of Stockholm, L-99

2013 Magnus Egerstedt , Professor at Georgia Tech, USA, F-92, L-99

2012 Christer Fuglesang , Astronaut, European Space Agency, F-74

2005 Katarina Bonde, F-78

Belongs to: Alumni
Last changed: Jan 22, 2024