Skip to main content
To KTH's start page To KTH's start page

The KTH Innovation Award

The KTH Innovation Award aims to celebrate people from KTH who with creativity, grit and courage have contributed to solving society’s challenges with their innovations. The Award was founded in 2020 and made possible by donations from Mathias Uhlén, professor at KTH and Spotify founder and CEO Daniel Ek.

The monetary award is 500 000 SEK. The KTH Innovation Award Foundation hands out the award.

About the KTH Innovation Award

For nearly 200 years, KTH has been home to people with skills and passion to solve some of humanity's greatest challenges. People from KTH have contributed to transforming entire industries and have together impacted millions of lives.

The KTH Innovation Award celebrates and recognizes those who have contributed to a better society with their innovations. The Award will be handed out for a minimum of ten years, starting in 2021.

For those who have taken on big challenges

A recipient of the KTH Innovation Award can be one or several individuals who are, or have been, affiliated with KTH through research or education. It is someone who has taken an active role in creating a brighter tomorrow.

500 000 monetary award

Drawing from generous donations from Daniel Ek, Founder and CEO of Spotify, and Mathias Uhlén, KTH professor and entrepreneur, the recipient of the KTH Innovation Award receives a monetary award of 500 000 SEK.

Anyone can nominate

Anyone can nominate a candidate to the Award. You can also nominate yourself. It cannot be awarded posthumously.

Selection criteria

Find all selection criteria here


The KTH Innovation Award was made possible by generous donations from Spotify's CEO and founder Daniel Ek, and Mathias Uhlén, KTH professor and entrepreneur.

The 2023 Award Committee

The 2023 members of the award committee are KTH President Anders Söderholm, investor Klaus Hommels, business angel Jane Walerud, KTH professor Stefan Ståhl, and the 2022 recipient of the Award Janne Wallenius.


The KTH Innovation Award will be handed out for a minimum of ten years, starting in 2021.

Padideh Kamali-Zare

Padideh Kamali-Zare - 2023

Padideh Kamali-Zare is the CEO and founder of the biotech company Darmiyan which helps patients with neurodegenerative diseases like Alzheimer’s to access better health and care.

Janne Wallenius

Janne Wallenius - 2022

As a researcher at KTH and an entrepreneur in the company Blykalla/Leadcold, Professor Janne Wallenius has been driving the development of small lead-cooled nuclear reactors, known as SMRs or Small Modular Reactors, since 2013. He is the recipient of the KTH Innovation Award 2022.

Portrait of Rustam Nabiev on KTH Campus. Trees and brick building in the background.

Rustam Nabiev - 2021

Rustam Nabiev has a crystal clear goal: “A day when no mother or child dies or suffers from preventable diseases".