Newsmakers at KTH

Published Jun 05, 2019

Which people have received an award for their research or an interesting assignment? Which successful student projects currently in progress at KTH are worthy of extra attention? Under the heading Newsmakers at KTH, you will find a selection of short items of KTH news.

Anders Lundgren

He is this year’s Friend of Stockholm Students

Anders Lundgren, University Director at University Administration (GVS), has been named the 2019 Friend of Stockholm Students by the board of SSOC. He is receiving this award for his work with student housing, campus environment issues and for his preservation work with Studentpalatset.

This is the first time the award is going to KTH and to a public servant. The award is traditionally presented during the Walpurgis Night celebrations at Skansen on 30 April.

Linus Salö

Awarded for prominent research within language cultivation

Sociolinguist Linus Salö  has been presented with the 2019 Erik Wellander research award. Linus Salö works at the Division of History of Science, Technology and Environment at the School of Architecture and the Built Environment (ABE).

He is receiving the award because he has “empirically increased knowledge about and theoretically deepened the understanding of the use of the Swedish language in scientific and academic contexts”.

The award ceremony took place on 26 April on Language Council Day. The prize money is SEK 50,000.

Ann-Christine Albertsson

Bronze medal for research within cellulose

Ann-Christine Albertsson , Professor Emerita in Polymer Technology at the School of Engineering Sciences in Chemistry, Biotechnology and Health (CBH) has received the 2019 Anselme Payen Award. The award was presented by the American Chemical Society: Cellulose and Renewable Materials (CELL) Division: “to honor and encourage outstanding professional contributions to the science and chemical technology of cellulose and its allied products.”

Aside from the great honour, the award comes with a prize of USD 3,000 and a bronze medal. The award was presented at the American Chemical Society conference in Philadelphia in March 2020.

Utilisation Award goes to Carlota Canalias

Carlota Canalias  has made great efforts within the utilisation of research, as funded by the Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research (SSF). She is a Professor who is active within the field of Laser Physics at the School of Engineering Sciences. As prize money she receives SEK 75,000 in the form of a personal grant. Carlota Canalias has been presented the SSF award for the project “Tailored Photons”.

Sverker Sörlin

International assignment for Sverker Sörlin

Sverker Sörlin , professor within the History of Science, is continuing his international career. He has been given a new assignment on the Scientific Advisory Board that is being established by the Austrian Science Fund. Among other things, Sverker will advise on how the funding of research should be developed in the future. The advisory group includes seven researchers from Germany, England, Austria, the Netherlands and Sweden.

Christian Ohm och Johan Rockberg

The Young Academy of Sweden welcomes two KTH researchers

Christian Ohm , researcher in experimental particle physics, and Johan Rockberg , docent and Associate Professor in antibody technology and directed evolution at KTH are two out of eight new members in the Young Academy of Sweden. This is an independent forum for young, leading researchers from all fields of research.

Smart Buildings gets its own innovation centre

Together with the primary financier Einar Mattsson, Akademiska Hus and Schneider Electric, KTH is developing the platform KTH Live-in Lab into a centre of excellence. KTH Live-In Lab, which was established in 2016, consists of four test beds for the research and development of construction and real estate-related technologies and methods.

“There is great interest in real test environments,” says Jonas Anund-Vogel, Director of KTH Live-In Lab. “Our hope is that this cooperation will lead to shorter lead times from research to market-ready products and services, and enable the smart and sustainable buildings of the future.”

Anna Holmquist

Prized designer and doctoral student

Anna Holmquist , doctoral student at KTH, designer and one half of the design duo Folkform, has received the prestigious Bruno Mathsson Award together with her colleague Chandra Ahlsell. The prize money is SEK 250,000, and the purpose of the award is to “promote research, development, education and training in the areas of objects, and internal and external environment.”

Belongs to: News & Events
Last changed: Jun 05, 2019