Skip to main content

Newsmakers at KTH

Published Dec 14, 2021

Who has received what when it comes to funding? What findings, results and researchers have attracted attention outside KTH? Under the vignette Newsmakers, we provide a selection of the latest news and events at KTH.

Portrait Danica Kragic
Danica Kragic

Danica Kragic is the AI Swede of the Year

Robotics researcher Danica Kragic Jensfelt , KTH Professor, has been named the 2021 AI Swede of the Year.
With its Tech Award, TechSverige , a member organisation for companies of all sizes within the tech sector, honours individuals who have made the biggest contribution to the development and visibility of Artificial Intelligence in Sweden.
In its citation, the jury noted: “Her leadership, heavyweight directorships, and partnerships contribute to greater collaboration that drives urgent development within AI on a broad front. She is a researcher and expert in the area where academia meets enterprise, who seeks to build trust, and whose unique talents and colourful personality attract attention in raising the profile of and explaining more specifically how technology can make our lives better for both private individuals and societal development.”

Portrait Lina Bertling Tjernberg
Lina Bertling Tjernberg

Lina Bertling Tjernberg is the 2021 Woman in Energy of the Year

The Association of Women in Energy  has named Lina Bertling Tjernberg , Professor in Power Grid Technology and Director of the Energy Platform at KTH, its Woman in Energy of the Year for 2021.
With this award, the Women in Energy network aims to raise the profile of women in the energy sector and make them more visible, and at the same time broaden the recruitment base by attracting new talents to the sector.
In the words of the jury: “With strength, patience and concrete actions in her role as a professor in the academic arena, she has been able to build a strong scientific and media platform on her own merits to raise energy issues far beyond purely being a technical matter. In naming her this year’s Woman in Energy, we wish to give her more wind in her sails in her quest to persuade more young people, not least girls, to choose and be welcomed into the energy sector and thereby contribute to genuine and long term equality.”

Patricia Diaz awarded a Golden Apple Anniversary Prize for 2021

Patricia Diaz portrait
Patricia Diaz

To raise the profile of individuals who have played a major role in inspiring teachers to explore and develop digital opportunities in the classroom, 20 individuals and groups have each been awarded a Golden Apple Anniversary Prize for 2021 . Patricia Diaz , a doctoral student and educational developer at KTH, has been awarded the Anniversary Prize in the category “Independent National Personality, Teacher and Author” for her efforts in “Communicating and Inspiring the Use of Digital Tools in Teaching and Education.”

Rutger Gyllenram is this year’s recipient of the Silver Beam Award

The Swedish Institute of Steel Construction presents the Silver Beam Award for especially notable initiatives within steel construction. This year’s prize-winner, Rutger Gyllenram, a mining engineer from KTH and founder and CEO of Kobolde & Partners . The company develops services and software within sustainable steel and metal manufacturing.
In its citation, the jury noted: “Reuse and recycling are mandatory areas today in ensuring that the values of different materials are included when discussing sustainability. Rutger’s passion for steel as a construction material is evident, not least in his role as an influencer on committees and in working groups. He is also a role model for young engineers and built environment professionals”.

Thuréus Prize goes to Sverker Sörlin

The Royal Society of Sciences in Uppsala has awarded the Thuréus Prize in the Historical Archaeology Class to KTH Professor Sverker Sörlin . He receives the prize for his “outstanding work as a pioneer within environmental history, or the “environmental humanities”, in Sweden and internationally, and for his wide-ranging writings and debates on research policy.”

Portrait Göran Stemme
Göran Stemme

Göran Stemme wins top international award within micro and electromechanical systems

IEEE, described as the world's largest technical professional organisation dedicated to advancing technology, has named KTH Professor Göran Stemme winner of one of its prestigious prizes. Stemme has won the Robert Bosch Micro and Nano Electro Mechanical Systems Award  for his “Pioneering contributions in MEMS sensors, particularly for medical applications, and sustained commitment to transferring MEMS to industry and society”.
MEMS stands for Micro-Electromechanical Systems, and spans the technology area for the development of micro sensors for vehicles and mobiles, and for advanced medical tools on a micro and nano scale.

Katarina Ahlfort

Belongs to: About KTH
Last changed: Dec 14, 2021