Skip to main content
To KTH's start page To KTH's start page

Newsmakers at KTH – May 2024

Top from left: Jennifer Mack, Lars Wågberg, Nemrit Kaur. Bottom: Sverker Sörlin, Catherine Trask and Daisy Pooler.
Published May 31, 2024

Who has received what when it comes to funding? What findings, results and researchers have attracted attention outside KTH? Under the vignette Newsmakers, we provide a selection of the latest news and events at KTH.

KTH professor among the world's most cited

Sverker Sörlin , professor of Environmental History, is among the authors of two scientific publications that are most cited by the world's decision-makers. The journal Nature has compiled a list of the ten most cited articles in policy documents globally. The publications in which Sörlin is involved are Planetary boundaries: guiding human development on a changing planet , published in Science (2015) at number 3 and A safe operating space for humanity , published in Nature (2009), number 10.

Jan Kronqvist

Elected to the Young Academy

Two KTH researchers have been elected to the Young Academy of Sweden: Jan Kronqvist , Associate Professor of Mathematics, and Jennifer Mack , Senior Lecturer and Associate Professor of Architecture. The Academy is an independent platform, established on the initiative of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. It aims to give younger researchers a voice in the research policy debate and works to bring research to children and young people.

Awarded for work environment management

Catherine Trask , Senior Lecturer at the Department of Ergonomics, is the recipient of this year's Levi Prize for work environment. Among other things, she is being honoured for her popular and enthusiastic teaching methods on engineering courses. With the help of role-playing, among other things, she renews teaching. The prize is awarded by the trade union Sveriges Ingenjörer and aims to recognise the role of engineers in developing a good working environment.

Environmental student to attend career programme

Mikael Forsman

Nemrit Kaur, studying Energy and Environment, has been named Female Technical Engineer of the Year. Female Technical Engineer is a talent programme for female and non-binary engineering students and provides the opportunity to meet some of Sweden's largest and most important companies. The award means that Kaur will be able to attend a tailor-made self-leadership programme. The talent programme is organised by recruitment company Cogig.

Preventing vibration injuries

Mikael Forsman , professor of ergonomics, has received a grant from Afa Försäkring for research into injuries caused by working with vibrating tools and machines. The researchers will develop a new measurement method with the aim of providing more accurate risk assessments and thus helping to prevent vascular and nerve injuries in the fingers, hands and arms.

Chemistry researcher selected for talent programme

Elsa Berlin

Daisy Pooler , a post-doctoral researcher in organic chemistry studying molecular machines, has been selected for the American Chemical Society's CAS Future Leaders programme. She is the first chemist from a Swedish university to be accepted into the programme in more than ten years. The programme offers leadership and presentation training to young researchers. Among other things, they get to present their research work at the American Chemical Society's autumn conference in Denver. In total, 34 researchers are included.

Biotechnologist elected to SFS leadership

Elsa Berlin, who is studying biotechnology at KTH, was elected Vice President of the Swedish Federation of Students (SFS) for the 2024/25 financial year. She is already involved in the THS Student Union at KTH.

Text: Christer Gummeson ( )

Belongs to: About KTH
Last changed: May 31, 2024