Skip to main content
To KTH's start page To KTH's start page

EECS researchers awarded prestigious fellowships

The IEEE fellows Xiongfei Wang, Dimos Dimarogonas, Oscar Quevedo-Teruel and Henrik Sandberg.
Published Dec 19, 2022

EECS captures four out of five elevations to IEEE fellow awarded to Swedish academia.

Four professors based at the KTH School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) have been named 2023 Fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers  (IEEE). With over 409,000 members in more than 160 countries, IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology.

Dimos Dimarogonas  and Henrik Sandberg  are based at EECS’ Division of decision and control systems. Oscar Quevedo-Teruel  works for the Division of electromagnetic engineering. At the time of the IEEE nomination, Xiongfei Wang  was based at Aalborg University but has since moved to the Division of electric power and energy systems at EECS.

“This is a wonderful achievement and an acknowledgement of the strong position our researchers enjoy within the field of electrical engineering,” said Sonja Berlijn, head of EECS.

Prestigious and important

Becoming an IEEE Fellow is the highest grade of membership in the IEEE. Less than 0.1% of voting members are selected annually for this member grade elevation. It is recognized by the technical community as a prestigious honour and an important career achievement.

“The IEEE Fellow is bestowed upon a very limited number of senior members who have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology bringing significant value to our society,” said K.J. Ray Liu, President and CEO of IEEE.

Dimarogonas was acknowledged for his work on distributed and hybrid control of multi-agent systems while Quevedo-Teruel was credited for his contributions to glide symmetry-based metasurfaces and lens antennas.

Sandberg became a fellow for his research on model reduction and secure control systems while Xiongfei Wang was highlighted for his contributions to power-electronic-based power systems.

Chalmers University professor Magnus Karlsson was the fifth Swedish addition to the 2023 fellowships. He was awarded for his work on nonlinear fiber propagation and advanced modulation formats.

Read the full list of 2023 IEEE fellowships here '